Don't forget to bookmark this web site !!
Used & Out of Print Books | Contact us | Home

Browse and Compare Price at 40+ Sites and 20,000+ Stores!!

|  FAQ/About us |  Recommend us |  Browse |  Memo |  Book Reviews |  Random Quotes |  Help |

 

Find more info., search and price compare for
I Bought Andy Warhol
by Richard Polsky
Binding: Hardcover, First Printing edition, 256 pages
Publisher: Harry N. Abrams
Weight: 1.19 pound
Dimension: H: 0.94 x L: 9.06 x W: 5.98 inches
ISBN 10: 0810942712
ISBN 13: 9780810942714
Click here to search for this book and compare price at 40+ bookstores with AddALL.com!

If you cannot find this book in our new and in print search, be sure to try our used and out of print search too!

 

Book Description:
In the tradition of Liar's Poker and Kitchen Confidential, the inside scoop on one man's quest to own the perfect Warhol painting.

In 1987 art dealer Richard Polsky set aside $100,000 to purchase for his private collection a painting by famed Pop artist Andy Warhol a process that took him 12 years. His journey, spanning the art world of the go go 1980s to the recession of the 1990s, is recounted in this funny, fast paced, and intensely readable expose.

Artists, gallery owners, auction houses, and collectors all play a role in this entertaining tale that illuminates not only Warhol the person and his place in art history but also the machinations and marketing that fueled his celebrity, driving the price of his paintings to the top of the market (in 1998 publisher Si Newhouse bought Orange Marilyn for $17.3 million the highest price ever paid per square inch for a work of contemporary art). As an industry insider, Polsky reveals the relationships that make the art world go round. I Bought Andy Warhol is a behind the scenes look at that world a look that reveals it to be filled with humor, hypocrisy, gossip, greed, manipulation, and money.


|  Home |  FAQ/About us |  Link to us |  Recommend us |  Contact us |  Bookstores |  Memo |

Shipping Destination:
State:
(US only)
Display in:
Search by:

Searching for Out of Print Books? [Click Here]

[ For web hosting, AddALL recommend Liquidweb]