Don't forget to bookmark this web site !!
Used & Out of Print Books | Contact us | Home

Browse and Compare Price at 40+ Sites and 20,000+ Stores!!

|  FAQ/About us |  Recommend us |  Browse |  Memo |  Book Reviews |  Random Quotes |  Help |

 

Find more info., search and price compare for
The Oxford Book of Children's Verse in America
by
Binding: Hardcover, Later Printing edition, 368 pages
Publisher: Oxford University Press, USA
Weight: 1.35 pound
Dimension: H: 1.3 x L: 8.6 x W: 5.6 inches
ISBN 10: 0195035399
ISBN 13: 9780195035391
Click here to search for this book and compare price at 40+ bookstores with AddALL.com!

If you cannot find this book in our new and in print search, be sure to try our used and out of print search too!

 

Book Description:
In the tradition of Iona and Peter Opie's Oxford Book of Children's Verse comes this anthology by the award winning poet and children's book author Donald Hall. Bringing together 'poems written for children and also poems written for anybody which children have enjoyed,' the book includes anonymous works, ballads, and recitation pieces, beginning with the Calvinist verses of the seventeenth century.

Hall has collected poems from Sunday School magazines, Christmas annuals for children, and children's periodicals such as St. Nicholas and Youth's Companion. Many marvelous writers, some no longer remembered, wrote almost every month for these nineteenth and twentieth century publications. In addition to the expected names of Longfellow and Whittier, we find Sarah Josepha Hale ('Mary Had a Little Lamb'), Mary Mapes Dodge (creator of Hans Brinker), and Palmer Cox (with his marvelous Brownies). Twentieth century authors abound: Ogden Nash, T.S. Eliot, John Updike, Theodore Roethke, to name just a few. The book concludes with the fabulous nonsense of present day writers like Shel Silverstein and Nancy Willard.

About the Editor:

Donald Hall's many books include The Oxford Book of American Literary Anecdotes, Kicking the Leaves, and Ox Cart Man, which won the Caldecott Medal for children's literature.


|  Home |  FAQ/About us |  Link to us |  Recommend us |  Contact us |  Bookstores |  Memo |

Shipping Destination:
State:
(US only)
Display in:
Search by:

Searching for Out of Print Books? [Click Here]

[ For web hosting, AddALL recommend Liquidweb]